Hoodwinked Part I

I’ve started to read a new book on my Kindle.  This new one is called Hookwinked by Karen Ehman and Ruth Schwenk.  It’s basically about 10 mom myths that we need to get rid of in us about motherhood.  I’ve gotten up to Chapter 3 today.   I’ll share some notes that I gathered from the book so far. 

The 10 myths shared in the Hookwinked book are as follows:

  1. Mothering is natural, easy and instinctive
  2. The way I mother is the right (and the only way)
  3. I am “just” a mom
  4. Motherhood is all consuming and all fulfilling
  5. A good mother (and not at all) is all at once
  6. Motherhood is a rat race
  7. Motherhood is the luck of the draw
  8. Everything depends on me
  9. I have to do all right or my child will turn out wrong
  10. My child’s bad choice means I am a bad mom

Chapter 1

Being perfected as a mom means we have to pursue to be more like Christ.  We are to fix our eyes on Jesus who is the author and protector of our faith (Hebrews 12:2).

Chapter 2 talks about the first myth which is that mothering is natural, easy and instinctive.  Wrong.  Wisdom takes work.  Wisdom is a skill.   We are to accept words, store up commands, turn a ear, call out for insight, cry aloud out of understanding, and look/search for wisdom.  Wisdom enables success, a shield, guards & protects us, saves us from sin, motherhood is hard.

Chapter 3 talks about the second myth which is the way I mother is the right and the only way.   We are actually to answer kindly, speak the truth in love,  and our conversations are to be full of grace. Homemakers means taking care of the home and family.  Women are busy at home and keeper of the home who manages well.  We are to give grace to ourselves and others, meaning be less judgmental.   The path we are on with mothering should be the one that God has planned for us.  We can seek advice from others but it’s best that we get the best one through God. So simply, we are to go to God for directions in motherhood.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in God/Jesus, motherhood, realistic and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

