Humor and Marriage

It’s been said that laughter is the best medicine in life generally.   It can be a saving grace in relationships too, both friendships and marriages.

So, I want to have more of that in my marriage with my husband.  I really do.  I have to be creative in how to get that.  Because I can’t or my husband can’t naturally towards each other.  Because I have a very sensitive gene and that I hear differently from “normal” people,  I don’t take light playful jokes very well.  Even if it wasn’t directly at me,  I still take it serious and I don’t handle it well. That is how sensitive I am. My boys have that from me.  So my poor husband can’t “play” with me that way.

But I can find humor with my husband if we play a game together like board games or card games, or if we watch a funny movie or clip, or see a comedian (which we saw one last December), or watch America Got Talent,  or take funny pictures.  I may laugh at things done to me or the family but it will be years later afterwards, not in the present. I can sometimes with the kids if they do something goofy though. 

And I have been trying to have more humor with my friends too, not just with the husband.  Because I feel sometimes these friendships are failing and I need to do more fun things with them.  I went to see Ghostbusters with a friend of mine that her kid goes to school with my kids and it was good to laugh (and I saw anther movie Bad Moms with another friend).  And it’s hard because I am a mom and married wife too and sometimes I feel like I don’t always relate to them especially with my best friend.  I always look at the positive side of things and try to let God lead me but it’s hard. 

Humor really benefits in everything. It takes the stress out of a long day mom-related or not.   I feel sad when my husband watches silly videos that are really stupid and I can’t even make my husband laugh at most things.  I can’t even tickle much because he doesn’t like being tickled a lot either.  But  God is there for us and he has kept us strong this long and we will keep working at making this area of our marriage more amazing.

Find ways to laugh with your spouse…. and keep making these laughing happy moments happen! I will too! 🙂

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in connection, marriage, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

