Sex: Flesh and Spirit

In this week’s devotional from J. Parker’s book, Intimacy Revealed: 52 Devotions to Enhance Sex in Marriage, she talks about sex in the flesh and in the spirit.

“When sex is removed from covenant love in marriage, stripped of its God-blessed state, it can become a thing of the flesh. Merely a selfish, physical act for the pleasure of those involved.” “When we bring joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control into the marriage bed, we honor our Lord and his special gift” (Parker, 72). 

I’m sure I have struggled with viewing sex as a flesh-centered act in the past.   Sex truly falls under the biblical definition of an act of the flesh when it is in the content of sin like sexual immorality, impurity, debauchery, orgies.   I know I’ve felt like I’ve been used when it comes to sex you know in like when sex becomes like wham bam thank you very much ma’am.   But that was only a short period of time. I’m sure my husband has felt like that especially in the early dating days because I know I craved sex and sex was like the only thing I was craving for the most at the time and I do have a higher sex drive. and I do feel guilty with that. and I know sex was just merely in the flesh with my ex and the one night stand I had with someone else prior to my husband.

We can live out the fruit of the Sprit in the marital bedroom by viewing sex as a blessing. Only sharing each other’s bodies with each other. That’s faithfulness and respecting each other’s bodies especially within gentleness and kindness. Obeying your spouse when they don’t want to engage in sexual intimacy. We can also pray to the Lord to help us have self-control and maintain the real wisdom in this area of our marriage. We want to be able to keep growing in our marital bed together.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in marriage, sex and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sex: Flesh and Spirit

  1. mostafiz227 says:

    Live Jasmin webcam girls : This is vey good article on sex guide. I like this very much. Thanks for write this type of article.

Leave a Reply

