The Sacraments: Baptism & Confirmation

Today’s session with the mom’s group at my church this morning through Symbolon was about the sacraments.  We mainly focused on baptism and confirmation.  I grew to have a better understanding and respect for what they truly do and mean.  I always knew what baptism and confirmation was but now I have the full view of it.

There are seven sacraments in the Catholic Church.  They include baptism, confirmation, Eucharist, reconciliation, anointing of the sick, matrimony, and holy orders.   Baptism and confirmation are intuition.  Eucharist, reconciliation, and anointing of the sick is healing.  Matrimony and holy orders is service.  These sacraments apply to our lives.

Baptism is basically the gateway to the Christian life.  It is to be joined with Jesus Christ.  It begins your belief in God, Jesus, holy spirit and the holy catholic church.  It begins your spiritual relationship.  You become the child of God.  You are giving saving grace.  You are free from sin.  Baptism gives holy water to the child three times.  It’s for the Son of God, The Father and the Holy Spirit.  Baptism is meant for everyone.

The effects of baptism are about  being forgiven of sin, becoming a creature in Christ, being incorporated in the body of Christ, sharing the mission of Christ, the bond in the unity of Christians, gaining spiritual mark and becoming citizens of heaven.

Sharing the following scriptures related to baptism:

John 3:5  Jesus answered, ” Believe me when I say that everyone must be born from water and the Spirit. Anyone who is not born from the water and the Spirit cannot enter God’s kingdom”.

Mathew 28:19  “So go and make followers of all people in the world. Baptize them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit”.

Matthew 19:14  “But Jesus said, Let the little children come to me. Don’t stop them,  because God’s kingdom belongs to people who are like these children”.

Confirmation basically perfects the grace of baptism.  It strengthens us.  It is to live and to bear witness to the Christian life.  It is Pentecost.  It strengthens the relationship even more with the Father. The unity is more firm with Christ.  You are increased in the gifts from the  Holy Spirit. Holy Spirit’s 7 gifts which include wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude (Courage), knowledge, piety (reverence), and fear of the lord (wonder and awe). It strengthens your bond to the Church.  It also strengthens you to witness the faith even more.


About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s