Celebrating Anniversary Is Important

For us,  we celebrate our anniversary every year. No matter what.   Both our dating and wedding anniversary are on the same date so we can’t miss that at all.  It’s easy for  us to remember. We add 5 years dating on top of our marital years. This year will be 10  years married, 15 years together.

Now some anniversaries are memorable and some are not.  6 months dating, my husband put our prom picture on a heart shaped cake.  3 years dating, my husband proposed and we had a 2 1/2 days getaway.   We were married on our 5 year anniversary and honeymooned for a week.  We ate our wedding top tier cake at our one year married anniversary. Some anniversaries, we’ve spent it on day trip like Niagara Falls or Toronto.  Others have been like your normal date night with dinner and movie.   I know that some early anniversaries weren’t so happy. We did fight unfortunately on some of them.   I was never pregnant on our anniversaries (I have  been though for Valentine’s Day, Christmas, New Years, Thanksgiving, Mother’s Day).

However, we always take the opportunity to celebrate us.  Even though we show our love to each other day in and day out in many different ways.  We’ve always managed to find time to be physically together to celebrate our love.  It is important to us that we honor our vows and each other.   Now, I do remember sometimes that we would celebrate it belated because of work and/or the kids.   But the celebration still happens!

I am really looking forward to this year’s anniversary in May.  This will be for the books! It will be the most memorable anniversary.  We will be spending in it in Mexico.  We leave the day after our anniversary, but the kids will be shipped off to the grandparents the night before, so we’ll still get to celebrate it and continue for a week straight.  I’m so excited.   We are at this point in our marriage where we really appreciate and respect each other as a husband and wife.  Our marriage is really more rock solid than it was 10 years ago. We have grew more individually and as a couple.  God is more present with us than at the beginning.   Every area of our marriage is more fierce and healthy and protected and holy.   We are more devoted to each other and to our vows now. I am more in bliss with my husband now than I was when I first married him. I am more in love with him. I love him more now than I did when I first met him.   Our love story is beautiful.  Everything that has happened has taken us to where we are now.  Even with all the storms we have endured, we are more together now.   Mexico will be another chance for us to reconnect some more without the kids for a week just like Jamaica in 2014 was our saving grace too.  It’ll be incredibly amazing.  I know that coming back from Mexico, we will be glowing with more love and happiness, and sun-kissed too! 🙂 Knowing that we are away on our 10 year  makes this really that much more special.  I am beaming knowing that this trip is like 3 months away.  I can’t believe we’ve been together this long. I feel old LOL.  15 years in love is crazy.  But God has really had a big part in this.  He wanted us together, and he has helped us to make US work and keep it going.  We’ve changed for the better, and we thank Christ! 🙂

 

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in connection, marriage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

