Sharing You and The Marital Bed

This week’s devotional in J. Parker’s book, Intimacy Revealed: 52 Devotions to Enhance Sex in Marriage is about braiding sexual intimacy.  Braiding sexual intimacy is basically you, your spouse and God.  The three of you is basically a cord of three strands.

Ever since I’ve been with my husband,  we’ve been sexually active since our early dating days.  So it was no stranger to be in his bed any chance we were able to be alone and connect sexually and it was pretty regular basis.   I truly loved Isaiah for who he is as a whole. His personality.   Everything about him.  I felt secure with him. He made me feel loved and beautiful and more.   So eventually over time, I would tell my parents that I would be spending the night with my boyfriend. Like the whole night. Eventually that became a regular thing like almost every weekend especially the year leading up to when we moved in together (a year before we married).  So by the time we did move in together to an apartment, we knew what we were both like going to bed and in the morning.   I was almost 21 when I moved out of my parents house and living with him. I just knew that it was the right decision for me.  I was ready to be out on my own and with my boyfriend. I knew that I wouldn’t be living with anyone else but him for the rest of my life.  I wanted a year of living with him before we married anyway because I knew there were still stuff that we needed to see and know about each other because this was a permanent thing and we were already sexually active way before this  happened anyway.

I LOVE being in our marital bed with him.   Our marital bed is our relaxation space. This where we go at the end of the day, especially now since we are parents of three boys. This is where we regain our sanity and connect as a couple.  Not as mommy and daddy. But as husband and wife.  We’ve come a long way since our early living together days in the apartment.  Which was 11 years ago LOL.  We’ve formed our marital bed relationship that is much more better, stronger, deeper and loving and secure now than it was back then.  Even though my husband works shift work at his job,  I really appreciate the two weeks of the month that he is home in the evenings and any other days and holidays that he is home for that much more.  When he is around in the evenings,  I really value his company.  I love being next to him.  Even when on our phones or watching tv or movie.  I love our snuggles. I can fall asleep easily in my husband’s arms.    I love holding hands with him.  I love when he plays with my hair or rubs my back.  We communicate too in bed.  I know stuff has happened that isn’t certainly needed like farts and what not, but it happens and we just laugh and carry on our night.

Sexual intimacy in our marital bed is really amazing right now. It provides warmth, security, love, and value.  Spiritual intimacy is strong too.  We connect. We are there for each other physically, emotionally, mentally and spiritually when we make love.  Not only our bodies are warm but our hearts are too.   I do feel that God is present when we have sex and when we are just intimately together in the bed, even without sex. I do pray on my own sometimes after sex just being thankful that God allowed our sexual desires to take place with each other.  I love when we end our night together in bed. Its just what it should be 🙂

I know that the one thing that needs improvement in the marital bed is prayer. We don’t pray together on a regular basis.  We do occasionally. We both know this. We know it needs to be happening more.   Once we get in the bed, we just wanna like take a breath and just be together.  Prayer isn’t the first in our thoughts.  We need to change that.  I know it would make our marital bed even more special and holy and inviting.

I have only lived with and married my husband. I feel so blessed though. I’ve only felt so comfortable sharing me with my husband.   My husband has accepted me for who I am in the marital bed and outside of it. I am not perfect but he loves me and respects me. You can’t get any better than that.  I have flaws.  But I remember that God made me the way he wanted me to be and I continue daily to grow more in Christ. I remember this motto for my husband too.  He is beautiful inside and out.   He reveals himself more in Christ now too. I’ve always loved my husband from the beginning and I still do 🙂

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in connection, marriage, sex and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

