Learning To Love: Eros

Just finished week three of the bible study that Darlene Schacht is doing over at Time Warp Wife on Learning to Love.  The theme this week was about Eros.  Eros is basically romantic love.  I LOVE being in this type of love. I love being in love.   You learn more about love especially in marriage.   You learn how to love your spouse just as much you would to Christ.  Christ loves the Church so we are do the same for our spouses.  This is how marriages strives.  I love that we are coming up on 10 years married in May. My parents will be celebrating 40 years married in July.

In Genesis,  we read about Jacob’s passion for Rachel.  Jacob worked hard for 7 years because he really wanted to marry Rachel. She was beautiful. Laben had tricked up with Leah when the 7 years were up, but after a week, he was able to have Rachel under the contract that he would work another 7 years for him.  We need to allow God to lead us who we love.  That we love unconditionally no matter what.  I believe that it was God that lead me to Isaiah at 17 and that he was the one that I would marry.  It is good to be servicing ourselves in useful ways for other people.   It makes people see that we are good and we love the Lord.  Jacob had served without question because he truly loved Rachel.  Marriage is one of my ministry with the Lord.  I am serving the Lord through my husband.

In Samuel 2,  we learn of David and Bathsheba.   David had sinned with Bathsheba, who was not his wife.   God tell us not to sin with someone who doesn’t belong to us.  We can apply by not fantasying or doing things with someone else that isn’t our husbands/wives.  That is being faithful to them and to the marriage and to the Lord.  Adultery ruins souls, those who sinned and those who are in his life.  It affects everyone.   I know that I’ve done unfortunately in the past and it’s not a good feeling.  But I’ve learned and repented.  I’ve come clean and eventually relearned my husband’s trust and devoted myself to him and our marriage 100% since the talk almost three years ago.

We read in Samuel 1 about Hannah and Elkanah.   Elkanah was the type of husband that was willing to do anything to make her happy. He would sacrifice anything that mattered him the most.  He was devoted to her completely and to the Lord.  Elkanah had the love that Christ has for the Church. That unconditional love.  He loved Hannah even though she was childless. She was completely devoted to him.  She was praised like the Proverbs 31 woman.  It’s noted that Hannah was like Rachel.  Eventually, the Lord did give Hannah a son named Samuel and she made sure he would serve the Lord. He was a child of prayer and promise.  Elkanah’s motto of the house was that he and his house would serve the Lord (and it’s written in the Bible to keep Satan away and it was a big message in the movie, War Room).  There is a lesson that we are to bear one another’s burdens, not add to them.   I see this unconditional love that my husband has for me.  It’s beautiful.  Like he has loved me regardless of my flaws, my sins and the like.  He sees that I am beautiful and perfect and that I am growing more into the Lord daily. I love him so much for that and I am now respecting his love and sacrifices for me more so than I did when we were first dating, engaged and married.  My husband is the most self-less man. Very romantic. He would do anything to keep me feel happy and loved and protected.  I realize how truly blessed and lucky I am that the Lord has chosen my husband to be with me and to work in him to stay married to me.  We are working together as one to keep fighting for our marriage every day. That we love each other no matter what and that we have that true ERO love and want to keep that even when we are old in age.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in marriage and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

