One Word 2016: Joy

Christians are being asked to focus one particular word for a whole year.  Last year, Faith was the one word of 2015.  It just kept popping up so I used that.  See my Godly Change in Me post from last year where I talked of Faith.   It definitely was the best one for 2015.  I definitely grew in faith.  I read the bible more.  God to know God and Jesus more.  Went to church more with my family.  Trusted in God for everything that happened to me in 2015.  It wasn’t always easy. But God is always there.  He always keeps his promises.  We may not always understand the what, where, why and who’s in our lives but God always has his reasons and all we need is to trust in him. He leads, shapes and grows us as we journey on this physical life and growing our soul in order for us to fear and love God and have more joy for him when it’s our time to leave this world and join him in the heavenly gates.

Back to 2016 as now,  my one word this year is JOY. I need to have more JOY in my life.  

Dictionary.com defines joy as:

1. the emotion of great delight or happiness caused by something exceptionally good or satisfying; keen pleasure; elation:

She felt the joy of seeing her son’s success.
2.

a source or cause of keen pleasure or delight; something or someone greatly valued or appreciated:

Her prose style is a pure joy.
3.

the expression or display of glad feeling; festive gaiety.
4.

a state of happiness or felicity.
verb (used without object)
5.

to feel joy; be glad; rejoice.
verb (used with object)
6.

Obsolete. to gladden.

 

Even when there are troubles or other sad/difficult things going on.  I have to know that it is good not to worry and hang on to God’s joy.   To feel blessed in all the blessings that he gives us in this life and in the next life.  I need to express more of God’s joy in me every day.  In the things I do, say, and share that with my husband, my boys and everyone else that is in my life.   That pretty much states that #5 description of the joy definition.  God wants US to feel joy, be glad and rejoice!

I want to share some joy scriptures and that these I know will help me keep JOY for 2016 and beyond!

You bring us honor and joy” 1 Thessalonians 2:20 ERV

“And I always pray for all of you with joy” Philippians 1:4 ERV

“We have so much joy before our God because of you! So we thank God for you. But we cannot thank him enough for all the joy that we feel”                      1 Thessalonians 3:9 ERV

“You taught me how to live. You will come close to me and give me great joy” Psalm 16:8-11

“Everyone, clap your hands. Shout joy to God!”  Psalms 47:1

“And you became like us and like the Lord. You suffered much, but still you accepted the teaching with joy. The Holy Spirit gave you that joy”                     1 Thessalonians 1:6 ERV

“Let me hear sounds of joy and happiness again. Let the bones you crushed be happy again” Psalms 51:8

“You are our hope, our joy and the crown we will be prud of when our Lord Jesus Christ comes”  1 Thessalonians 2:19 ERV

“Your help made me so happy. Give me that joy again. Make my spirit strong and ready to obey you.” Psalms 51:12

“God is strong and can keep you from falling. He can bring you before his glory without any wrong in you and give you great joy” Jude 1:24 ERV

“But you should be happy that you are sharing in Christ’s sufferings. You will be happy and full of joy when Christ shows his glory” 1 Peter 4:13 ERV

“You will gain wisdom, and knowledge will bring you joy” Proverbs 2:10 ERV

“Even though I have troubles and hard times, your commands give me joy” Psalms 119:143 ERV

“Worry takes away your joy, but a kind word makes you  happy”         Proverbs 12:25 ERV

“When I sit down to satisfy my hunger, my joyful lips hunger to praise you” Psalms 63:5 ERV

“But let those who trust in you be happy forever. Protect and strengthen those who love your name” Psalms 5:11 ERV

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

