More Than Physical Sex

I’m currently reading “Intimacy Revealed” by J. Parker.  This book is mainly 52 devotions to enhance sex in marriage.   J.  Parker is another blogger I follow.  She is the owner of the Hot, Holy and Humorous blog. This is her site, http://www.hotholyhumorous.com

Now,  I do want to stress this greatly that I do feel that our sex is hot and holy now. It’s felt really intimate for the last two years. We’ve been together nearly 15 years and married for almost 10 years (this May!).    There is nothing wrong with wanting to make our sexual intimacy in the marriage bed even more awesome!

I do see sexual intimacy as a gift from God.  It is truly a blessing.  I will be honest though, it wasn’t always a blessing or felt like a blessing when our marriage was up and down. It is now more stable and secured and protected with God as the center.  I pray especially after my husband and I have indulged in sexual bliss. Just thanking him for allowing this connection to happen and be beautiful and intense at the same time.  Like for example, I did just that last night.  It was incredible.  But I also pray anytime that I feel that we need to have sexual intimacy today. Sometimes that prayer is answered and sometimes, not.  I love being in my husband’s company either way.

It is one flesh experience with my husband in our marital bed now.  I desire it to be everything, as in all aspects of sexual intimacy.   Physical, emotional, sexual, mentally, and spiritually.  I get this experience pretty much all the time now.  Because we are fully present to each other and take in the moment of being connected to each other. Sex is the most intimate way.  We are in love, we love each other and we make love. 

“Like a seal over your heart” (Songs of Song 8:6)

“My beloved is mine and I am his” (Songs of Songs 2:16)

For the longest time in our relationship and marriage, sex did feel like purely physical, but we did have some emotional attachment to it as well.   Now as in NOW, sex is so much more than physical.  There are other forms of intimacy involved when it comes to sex like emotional, relational, recreational and spiritual.

I can experience deeper passion when I invite the Lord to encourage us to be really connected to each other especially in the spiritual sense.  I remind myself during sex of it’s greater meaning and ability to connect me with my husband because sex is a gift from God.  God created sex. God created  us.  God witnessed our marriage. God wanted us together.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in marriage, sex and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

