Channel That Bad Attitude

We all have bad days. We can’t avoid it, but we CAN control it. We can channel it.  We can reset our attitude to make that bad day into a good day. 

On Sunday, It felt like I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Uh-oh!  I was absolutely grumpy and I didn’t like it.  But it still didn’t stop me from going to church with my family, and then later attending a belated birthday dinner at my parents’ house for my husband and for my brother Alex’s girlfriend, Amanda.  

Oh I had lost my camera lens cap. It was missing and we looked everywhere. We couldn’t find it. I was going crazy and it shot up my bad attitude even more.  Update: My youngest, Jackson eventually finds it yesterday morning after my husband had gone out after work Monday night to buy me a new lens cap (a backup is always good anyway, so I thanked him for the sweet gesture anyway and appreciated it.)

Early  Sunday afternoon, I spilled out my feelings, and we had a dispute (In private).   My husband was like I can’t read your feelings or your mind. He can know when I am off, but he won’t know the reason why or whatever.  It’s good to tell your husband what’s going on and maybe suggest something that he can do to distress you a bit.  My husband ended up wrapping Amanda’s gift for me so I could go out and get the cake for him and Amanda.   I was still thankful that my husband was remaining calm and trying to work things out with me.  IN the past, he would be the total opposite. My husband really hates it when I’m really grumpy because it affects him too.  I work really hard to remain cheerful. I am to let go of things that shouldn’t really matter in order to focus on the important things.  We are set to fail but we can choose how we want to feel and be that would glorify God and radiate others.

Honestly, the mood didn’t really change until I was at my parents’ house.  Because I was away from home, from all the chaos.  So I was feeling better and I had some wine too.  I did have a bath later that night when we were all back home.  I apologized some more for me towards my husband (and prayed to God too) and he forgave me and said that tomorrow is a fresh day, and it was absolutely better. Less stressful and more cheerful. 

There are many things to channel that bad attitude/day. I will share some that works for me. It all depends on the day and the time of course.  But all are helpful! Things like praying, taking a nap, going for a walk, having a bath and curling up with a good book and absolutely talking to a trusted person that would give you some support and love too (in my case, my husband!).

Jesus really works in me and my husband. So everything we do together really builds our character and make our Christian walk more stronger.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

