Women and Long Hair

I love my hair long.  It used to drive me crazy when my mom would keep my hair short as a child.  I mean. why?  Yeah, I know bobs are cute and easier to brush.  I did eventually get my way… I think about 10, I was allowed to grow my bangs out and actually grow out my hair.  I haven’t had bangs since I was 10.. honestly.  I just don’t like them.  At least not on me. It’s just doesn’t go with me.   I haven’t had my hair short like up to the chin in like over 20 years now.  I might trim to the shoulders from time to time but that’s about as low I will go.   I love my hair past my shoulders.  Even though a lot of the time, I don’t style my hair, but  I do like the ability to be able to put my hair in a pony tail or pig tails or get my hair done in a up do for a special occasion like weddings or anniversary.  I know a lot of people with long hair. My best friend being one of them.  You hardly notice that she gets her hair cut. Her hair is actually longer than mine.  She just trims them.   It is beautiful.

Long hair is actually advertised in the bible.  I’ll share some scriptures below.

“But wearing long hair is a woman’s honor. Long hair is given to the woman to cover her head. “–1 Corinthians 11:15

“If a woman does not cover her head,  it is the same as cutting off all her hair. But it is shameful for a woman to cut off her hair or to shave her head. So She should cover her head.”–1 Corinthians 11:6

“My darling,  you are so beautiful! Oh, you are beautiful! Your eyes are like doves under your veil. Your hair is long and flowing, like little goats dancing down the slopes of Mount Gilead.”–Song of Songs 4:1

“Your head is like Carmel, and the hair on your head is like silk. Your long flowing hair captures even a king”–Song of Songs 7:5

Of course, everyone has their own preferences when it comes to hair.  My husband’s preferences on women is for her hair to be long. Which is me as well.  He’s fine when I need to have my hair cut, but he’s always like don’t cut it too short.   It is my hair and my body, but of course he doesn’t need to worry.  Like I have mentioned previously here, I love my long hair.  

One thing that I haven’t stayed true to with my hair is the natural color that I have been given with this life and body.   I have had highlights in my hair, mostly when I was a teen and early adulthood.  I have gone beyond highlights. I’ve dyed my hair fully lighter and darker, and in different colors.  I liked me blonde for the longest time, and then I went darker after I had my second son.  This year,  I’m just experimenting with colors. I went pink with some purple and red.  I currently have some red, purple and tiny bit of blue.  I’m planning on going back with blonde with little bit of brown/brunette color the next time I need my hair done.

Anyway,  I just wanted to share that long hair does glorify God.   But that doesn’t mean that you have to try to grow out your hair if that isn’t your cup of tea.  I do believe that long hair does provide some beauty though.  I definitely will aim to keep my hair long as I age more during this life and want to keep these long locks into Heaven when the time comes.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

