Controlling Marital Thoughts To Be Positive!

I am still reading through “Nine Thoughts That Can Change Your Marriage” by Sheila Wray Gregorie.  Her 2nd chapter is about “My Husband Can’t Make Me Mad“.   If you want to glorify God, we can choose to control our thoughts and what to do with them.   God likes it when we do it in a positive way.   Sheila shares the following scripture in this chapter:

“Whatever is true, whatever is nobble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things” (Philippians 4:8).

God loves joy and rejoice.  He likes it when we are thankful to him and ask that we go about any situation in peace and understanding.    God wants us to be able to bring up our husbands, not tear them down.  So we need to catch them doing good and praise them for it.  That’s how we can give our husbands respect too and give them thanks.

I am always trying to notice anything that my husband does. Big and small things.  Like today, my husband cleaned up our computer room. It’s not so cluttered now.   He organizes things better than I can.  He does ask me if I want certain things somewhere else.   The other day, my husband pulled the weeds in our driveway.  So I am appreciative and thankful to him.  I might not always show it in the best way at the time, but I do try to make sure to tell him one way or another 🙂

Sheila had a good advice though that I want to share on here. This can apply for husbands too…. not just wives!  Here it is!

“When our husbands do something that could be interpreted as a negative, we have two choices. We can accept the interpretation that validates our anger, or we can choose to be generous and believe the best” (Gregoire, 49).  

We have to remember though that our husbands aren’t our enemies. They want the best for us.  They are on our side.  We are a team.  It’s not about me.  It’s about US.   It’s not always easy to be rejoicing things even in not so loving situation.   It does take training to be quick to listen and be slow to anger but it is worth it.   It’s beneficial for both husband and wives and for the overall impact in marriage.

Always be thankful for the little things that can drive you nuts, whatever it is.  Because marriage is a beautiful thing, and your husband is a gift from God.  Be thankful that they are in your life and you have something everyday to do for your husband.  For an example, I’m thankful that I have the chance to prepare coffee for my husband in the mornings and pick up his socks or clothes that he takes off that are left on the bed or on the floor. 

You can still advocate your feelings to your husband in a loving way  especially for the bigger things because you don’t have to keep things bottled up in you.  Our husbands can’t read our minds too.   They want to know and be able to do things in a better way for you.  God is our Father and he can transform us and our marriage.   Marriage is about leading each other up and towards God too.  I am blessed to have God and my husband in leading me to be better as a wife!

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Controlling Marital Thoughts To Be Positive!

  1. Unbent Wings says:

    I just married the love of my life after 3 years and 3 kids and this is amazing advice, I truly want to be a Godly wife.

  2. jewellove30 says:

    Unbent Wings: I’m glad I could help you out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

