Final Devotional Thoughts: Wife After God

I finished my 30 day devotional of Wife After God: Drawing Closer to God & Your Husband on Feb 3. I guess I forgot to share my final thoughts about it since then.  Opps! So here I am!

Jennifer talked about Intimacy with God.  She explained what intimacy means, what it is required of and how to create it with Him.

“Intimacy is the affection and love shared within a personal relationship with another” (Smith, 125).

“True intimacy requires vulnerability as those involved make themselves known through revealing very personal things encompassing the whole self, physically, spiritually, emotionally, and mentally. Intimacy is the process of drawing closer to another ” (Smith, 125).

You can create a personal relationship with God through prayer.   Communicate what it is in your heart.  Anything and everything that of  happiness, sadness, sins, and etc.  Because He wants to be part of your life.  He wants to you to be able to live life according to his will.  Give you what your heart needs in His way and timing.    You can be intimate with God when  you participate in communion at church as well.  Because you are eating His bread (Body of Christ) and drinking His wine.

Jennifer also talked about Intimacy in Marriage.  It’s similar to being intimate with God.  Only this way is through your spouse.  In my case, my husband.

“Your marriage represents the intimate relationship of Jesus and his Bride, the Church” (Smith, 131).

Sex is part of the marital intimacy but there is so much more beyond sex that surrounds marriage.   Date nights, serve each other,  bless each other,  honest communication,  pursuing another fiercely,  dreams & goals,  confess sins are the few other ways to indicate intimacy in marriage. Jennifer explains God’s purpose for marriage.

“God’s purpose for marriage is for a husband and wife to experience a love relationship, where they passionately pursue each other daily, where the ups and downs draw them closer together, a place where true intimacy thrives” (Smith, 131).  

Intimacy in marriage requires time, energy, trust, confidence, and faithfulness.   You don’t give up trying.  It is worth it every single day.  Marriage is beautiful for all the days of your life.

 In closing,  Jennifer’s devotional has helped me understand God and how to fiercely be walking with my husband in our marriage.  I definitely have drawn closer to the pair of them.  My life was created by God so I have been gifted to share me to and with my husband.  Anything that I do in my marriage with my husband is to glorify God.  We are to celebrate it fully in love.

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

