Marital Prayer

Praying in marriage is important.   God is the one who binds couples together.  I have always believed that He was the one that brought us together, firstly meeting in 2000 through an ex boyfriend (mutual friends) and finally falling in love to embark an relationship together in 2001.  We have always known that we were the one for each other since the beginning.  We married in 2006.  So we’ve been married for 8.5 years, together for almost 13.5 years total.

I have mentioned in  previous posts that I hadn’t always prayed to God and investing in Him to help me, my husband and our marriage in the past.  It was seldom if anything.  I prayed more for the kids.   But for the past year and half, I have been doing A LOT more of that.  Daily.  I think it’s been a big help in guiding me to change my ways with a lot of things with myself and towards to my husband.  It’s an ongoing process.   It’s a journey that will continue to have me grow more as a wife, mother, friend, etc. 

Disagreements/fights happens to all couples, married or not, and we’re all human. We all make mistakes.  Blow up at each other in a not loving and respectful way.  It happened yesterday.  We were both very guilty and I did not like what transpired in leading to this unexpected outburst.  I try very hard to slow my anger and direct my thoughts in a more loving and respectful way. It failed yesterday.  I was mad at myself for it and at my husband.

I had prayed and let out all my feelings to God.  To help me and my husband work through it with communicating and more.   We did talk through texting as he was at work for night shift and we did share what was really going on with us.   We are working more on US.   Trying to fit in more US time.   It is stressed that we don’t let the boys and money get in the way of our marriage. 

So today, absolutely much better day.  Very grateful for it.   We tried something new.    We prayed God together as a couple this afternoon.   I did talk on the behalf of us.  It’s a new territory.  It is something that I want US to keep doing on a daily basis as I believe this new time together will help us grow closer together. Strengthen our love for each other and have a better relationship with God together at the same time.   I felt happier once we prayed.   I fell even more in love with my husband.   Because he was willing to try and do it with me.   I was nervous when I asked because it’s never been done before together.  But we did it.    And I hope my husband finds the courage to try and pray on his own too. I think praying both individually and as a couple, our marriage will thrive so much more spiritually, emotionally and physically as well. 

 

 

About jewellove30

Married since 2006, in love since 2001. Have three boys and two angel babies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

